VAAK is an independent unit under the umbrella of Samskriti Foundation which is a Registered Public Trust having its head quarters at Mysore. VAAK has an Advisory Board of Experts and its affairs are managed by an Executive Committee consisting of the following members:

  • Prof. M. A. Lakshmithathachar              Patron
  • Dr. E. S. Dwarakadasa                            Chairman
  • Dr. V. V. Bhat, IAS                                   Co-Chairman
  • M. A. N. Prasad                                      Secretary
  • Dr. M. A. R. Iyengar                                Member
  • M. A. Parthasarathy                                Member

Academic Courses

 In due course of time, VAAK intends to offer courses in the following:

  • Philosophy
  • Indigenous Science & Technology
  • Indian arts   & Culture
  • Indian literature,  and
  • Many Trans-disciplinary and Multidisciplinary topics

Seminars, Conferences, Participatory Programs

 VAAK will organize programs to build awareness in the minds of the public about the rich heritage of ancient Indian knowledge systems we have inherited. Members of VAAK could actively participate in these events.



Prof. M. A. Lakshmithathachar

Prof M A Lakshmithathachar is a traditional Sanskrit scholar who specializes in all the Indian Knowledge systems. He has dedicated his life to prove to the world the modern relevance of these knowledge systems to fields as varied as Information technology, agriculture, horticulture and so on. He has edited / authored more than 100 various publications. He has taught at the Post Graduate and doctoral levels and established several institutes of national and international repute. Presently, he heads the Samskriti Foundation ( at Mysore and is actively engaged in research work and spreading awareness about the importance and significance of the traditional Indian knowledge systems. Academic

  • B.A. (Sanskrit & Philosophy as majors) with 8th rank, Mysore University
  • M.A. (Sanskrit) (passed out first in first Rank with two gold medals), Madras University
  • Navya Nyaya Vidvan first in first getting Gold Medal of the President of India from Govt. of Karnataka

Positions Held

  • Lecturer in Sanskrit, Government College, Chitradurga, – 4 years
  • Lecturer in Sanskrit, Government Arts & Science College,Bangalore, – 4 years
  • Assistant Professor of Sanskrit, Post-Graduate Department of Sanskrit, Bangalore University, Bangalore, -10 years
  • Founder Joint Secretary, Academy of Sanskrit Research, Melkote, Mandya Distirct, Karnataka.
  • Registrar, Academy of Sanskrit Research – 8 years
  • Director, Academy of Sanskrit Research, Melkote – 18 years

Current Roles

  • Chairman, Centre for literary Research, Indian Institute of Ayurveda and Integrative Medicine (IIAIM), Foundation for Revitalization of Local Health Traditions (FRLHT), Bangalore, heading the Medical Manuscripts Programme at I-AIM, FRLHT.
  • President, Samskrti Foundation, Mysore
  • Member, Academic Council, & Visiting Professor, VYASA University, Bangalore
  • Senior Honorary Advisor, FRLHT, A centre of excellence under the Ministry of Environment and Forests, Bangalore
  • Member, Governing Council and Chief Advisor, TVS Chef Training Institute, Tumkur
  • Member, Academic Council, & Visiting Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Advanced Studies, Hyderabad

Recognition & Honours

  • Award of President of India for outstanding scholarship in Sanskrit and contribution to build a bridge between the Ancient Knowledge Systems and Modern Science
  • Citizen of the Age of Enlightenment by Maharshi Mahesh Yogi International Academy of Science
  • Ramanuja Paduka Sevaka by Sri Kumara Venkatachariar Sadhabhisekha Mahotsavam 2001, Sri Mudali Andavan Swami Thirumaligai, Singaperumal Koil, Chennai.
  • Many other titles and certificates of honor conferred by various other Institutions.